Want to study more about Consciousness and Quantum Physics?

Previously I mentioned that I was delving into studying Consciousness, Quantum Physics and String Theory.  Obviously my lifetime will probably not be long enough to get a full grasp on any one of these areas of study, but I have found it empowering to begin to get a tiny hold on some of the more general concepts related to these fields of study.  Most importantly has been the scientific discoveries that back up my intuitive understanding of the world and our role as human beings.

The philosophic underpinnings of Yoga, Buddhism and Native American cultures have one core component that is continually returned to within cutting edge science.  Every entity, whether biological or not, is connected to the rest of the universe.  This connection is not esoteric or imaginary, the connection is real and measurable.  Much of how we think of ourselves may be due to our limited ability to comprehend the truth.  Separation itself may be a grand illusion that serves to provide us with a structure from which to organize ‘our reality’.  The quantum physics of energy is where most yogis will start to get really excited.

For those of you who would like to join me on this path of discovery I have provided a recommended reading list below.  The list is interactive with amazon.com but most  of the books are available at the Boise Public Library.  Please share with me what you uncover.

A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking

The Field: The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe by Lynne McTaggart

The Biology of Belief: Unleashing the Power of Consciousness by Bruce H. Lipton

The Mind and the Brain: Neuroplasticity and the Power of Mental Force by Jeffrey Schwartz

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/want-to-study-more-about-consciousness-and-quantum-physics/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love it. Thank you for being the pioneer and forging new paths of research for the rest of us to follow. Looking forward to checking out your book recommendations!

    • The Field will be the least heavy and then Biology of Belief. After that I imagine you will find the Mind and Brain the most interesting. I look forward to your feedback.

  2. Thank you Angela, ive been wanting to read biology of belief and this was the push i needed. Tanya 🙂

    • Biology of Belief is also available on audio via the public library. I know you will find it inspiring!

  3. Over 30 years ago I purchased The Dancing Wu Li Masters-An overview of the New Physics (Gary Zukav) and have been lugging it around place to place ever since. This past Summer I began to read where I had left off so long ago. For so very long I have viewed physics in Newtonian terms and considered quantum physics as just an extension of same. The reality is quite different. While Zukav has gone the way (apparently) of New Age Seer and certainly doesn’t posses the credentials or standing of Hawking, this read did open the path to a better understanding of the perceived vs reasoned interpretation of the Universe and our place in it. The consequences for spiritual awareness and validation are still evolving. That I can see others may have become aware of this as well is truly refreshing and frankly unexpected in this corner of the West. Thanks for the book list and unintended “reminder” as I’ve been putting off Hawking too long as well!!!

    • Tom,
      I had never heard of Gary Zukac’s book before. I read the book reviews on Amazon and was very intrigued by the variety of responses. They ranged from love to hate, which of course makes me want to read it myself. Thank you for opening the door to my next literary adventure.


Leave a Reply

