So much to learn …

I recently received an eloquent email from a student and friend of mine.  We have both recently read Brene Brown’s book The Gifts of Imperfection.  Susie was generous enough to let me share with you…

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

http://exposingthetruth.info/top-five-regrets-of-the-dying/

“We can learn so much of life’s important lessons when we take the time to listen.  Aren’t these regrets some of the exact lessons that Brene Brown is teaching about how to live our lives now/today, before we no longer have the luxury of time to do so?

I honestly think that we can learn the most about living from those who are dying. It seems like those facing death have given up the perceived need of a false sense of themselves and the requirement that most of us give in to of being something and/or someone we’re not. And with that clarity, they see how a great life is to be lived and they are hoping that we allow them to teach us these crucial lessons. What they are telling us, really, is that it (living a great life) is in being authentic and true to who we are – having the courage to choose to play to our gifts and imperfections, to share our stories, to express our feelings, dreams and fears, to let go of shame and guilt, to cherish the relationships that mean the most to us, to spend less time working and more time playing, and to invent our lives as we go, so as to choose consciously, wisely and honestly. Now, if only we will learn and listen so we can live that kind of life now, instead of ever having to someday regret what has been and what could have been, but wasn’t. We can find tons of really good reasons to do this work, can’t we?”

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2011/12/16/so-much-to-learn/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

