Tree City Juice Cleanse

I recently decided to try Tree City’s juice cleanse.  Tree City is Boise’s locally owned juice and smoothie bar.  I had heard about their juice cleanse from a friend who is also ‘gastrointestinally challenged’.  The juice regime is designed to “remove toxins, assist in weight loss and help with aches and allergies.”  The main reason I decided to try it is that my doctors had recommend that I remove as much fiber from my diet as possible.  What no fiber? Yes that is correct.  Fiber is great once it is in the colon, but really slows things down in the stomach. So if you have gasteroperesis, when the stomach muscles are already sluggish, then fiber just bogs down the whole system.

I decided to start with a three day regime.  Each morning I picked-up six fresh beverages for the day. There were four juices, one coconut water and an almond milk.  All the products are raw (unpasteurized).  Without exposure to heat the beverages retain the maximum level of vitamins, minerals and enzymes.  In total there were 1100 calories per day, so I knew it was going to also be somewhat of a fast for me.

To be honest, on the first day I felt miserable. I felt distended and nauseous most of the day. The juices didn’t taste very palatable, the flavors were very overpowering. Surprisingly hunger was not an issue, in fact I could finish all of the beverages.   I wasn’t sure I could stick to it for three days, but by the second day my stomach settled.  I slept better than I had slept in years, but continued to feel sleepy throughout the second day.  On day three I felt great!  The juices tasted wonderful and I actually found my body craving the next jar of nourishing liquid.

The experience has given me a new sense of control over my health.  I am working to integrate fresh juices into my daily diet.  When making your own juices, make sure to use the best produce you can and only make as much as you can drink that day.  Freshness and quality really count.  If doing it yourself is too labor intensive, I would recommend trying out Tree City.

Published in: on December 5, 2011 at 12:58 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/tree-city-juice-cleanse/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi,

    I’m curious in doing this cleanse but wanted to see what others were saying.
    Did you notice any weight lost?

    • Yes I did lose some weight, but remember that quick weight loss is likely to be gained back unless daily habits are improved. Long-term weightloss is best done slowly and with consistent improvements to diet and exercise habits.


Leave a Reply

