Be grateful for the power you hold within.

Often people attempt to live their lives backwards: they try to have more things, or more money, in order to do more of what they want so they will be happier.  The way it actually works is in reverse.  You must be who you really are, then do what you really need to do, in order to have what you really want. 

~Margaret Young

(image source)

A friend and student of mine recently lent me a book to read,

The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are by Brené Brown
I am about two-thirds of the way through and would highly recommend the book.  I find the way Brene tackles tough topics like love, belonging, shame and connectedness to be very insightful and refreshing.  Whether or not she knows it she is a true yogi.  To help you understand why I say this let me share a short excerpt from her chapter on authenticity:
“Choosing authenticity is not an easy choice. … ‘Staying real’ is one of the most courageous battles that we’ll ever fight.
When we choose to be true to ourselves, the people around us will struggle to make sense of how and why we are changing.  Partners and children might feel fearful and unsure about the changes they’re seeing.  Friends and family may worry about how our authenticity practice will affect them and our relationships with them.  Some will find inspiration in our new commitment; others may perceive that we’re changing too much – maybe even abandoning them or holding up an uncomfortable mirror.”
This short paragraph describes clearly what can challenge an individual when they begin a deep study of yoga.  I have not only experienced this transition myself, but witnessed it in countless students and friends.  It is my belief that yoga has the power to reveal our true natures and in doing so bring us into harmony/homeostasis.  Whether this harmony is Samadi (with a big ‘S’) or not I do not know, but I can say with absolute certainty that with a greater sense of authenticity life will become joyful.  I do not intend to say you will never be challenged, never hit red lights, never feel depressed, or never suffer.  But I literally mean that whatever arises will be seen in a softer light and challenges will help you to grow stronger.  Be grateful for the power you hold within.
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2011/11/24/be-grateful-for-the-power-you-hold-within/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am grateful for the fact that we all hold a tremendous amount of power within us; to acknowledge our imperfections without assigning judgment to them, to recognize our strengths separate from our egos, to choose to see that whatever happens to us being for our greatest benefit and as exactly what we need from the Universe at that moment. Cognitively, spiritually – that totally fits and I embrace that as part of my core beliefs. I am just having some hiccups in this journey, struggling sometimes with wrapping my emotions around reality and getting my heart to agree with my head, but I’m working on it and I’m pretty sure that I will get there; with your support and teaching.
    The other thing that I know with certainty, Angela, is that I’m really thankful for you; for your patience, for your friendship, for your wisdom and for your willingness to “stay real”. Thank you.
    As Brene would say, “I’m thankful for the fact that I am imperfect and able to feel vulnerable, because it means I’m alive.”. And that’s a biggie – to be alive and able to feel. -^- Namaste.
    (I think that Brene knows that she is a true yogi. She might be struggling a bit with figuring out how to compartmentalize that particular aspect of her being and make it fit neatly into her identity as a researcher who can control and predict things. 🙂

  2. Do we choose this (reverse) path to insight (of free will), or does it choose us (by determinism)?

    Either way, the most powerful leaders of global change discover that which we leave behind of the highest value is what we never owned, but invested in others’ hearts. Even as all things of substance will perish (by entropy), we depart lasting value by selfless love we personified in our lives, and which is but memories after. To walk in love is to speak the truth in all our loving actions.

    Selectively using love is the footprint we leave for others. What else is there?


Leave a Reply

