Lazy Tummy Muscles

I woke up this morning feeling wretched.  I was racked with nausea and stomach cramps.  I am regularly challenged with the symptoms of a condition called gastroparesis.  According to the Mayo Clinic, “Gastroparesis is a condition in which the muscles in your stomach don’t function normally.”  Basically I have very lazy tummy muscles and it makes it hard (often times impossible) to digest food.  Having this condition has made eating “the right stuff” a constant pain, literally.

I have spent so much time researching and asking every imaginable expert what I should do.  Results have varied, but unfortunately I still haven’t found myself symptom free.  I recently spent some time on a forum connecting with other people with gastroparesis.  They shared similar stories of mixed results and frustration.  If any of you have resources you think would be helpful I would be grateful to learn of them.

 

Published in: on November 9, 2011 at 8:28 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/lazy-tummy-muscles/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. If you haven’t already come across Crystal Saltrelli’s website, you might check it out–she’s a certified health counselor who specializes in working with gastroparesis, which she has herself. Her website has tons of good info, tips, and links.

    http://livingwithgastroparesis.com/

    Hugs from a fellow gp-er–
    Gina

    • Thank you Gina, I recently found Crystal’s cookbook. The only thing so far I don’t like about it is that it is so short, but the recipes have helped a lot.

  2. I also have GP and have been juicing doing acupuncture as well as blogging about my health journey…http://livingencouraging.wordpress.com/

    Hope you are having a good tummy day!

    Sarah


Leave a Reply

