Angela Davis my Namesake

I just returned home from a visit with my family.   It is heartbreaking to now live so far from them.  When I say ‘far from them’ I am not only referring to geographical distance, but also lifestyle.  It is challenging to connect to those we love when they live so differently from ourselves.  I find it is of utmost importance to celebrate whatever has brought them happiness and joy.

Visiting with my family and spending time in my old hometown also made me think about my roots and beginnings.  Those of you that know me now might be surprised to hear that I was not a very happy child.  My mental health was always a challenge.  Bi-polar made it particularly difficult to ever have a strong sense of identity.

Luckily, with age, experience and proper treatment of my bi-polar I have come to discover my authentic self.  I finally feel able to be a strong woman with the ability to defend what I believe in.  These are the same characteristics I am so proud of in my parents.  Every year I discover more about them that I am not only proud of, but also intrigued by.  I think it says a lot that my mother named me after Angela Davis. “Angela Davis (born January 26, 1944) is an American political activist, scholar, and author.” Many of you probably will recognize her for her amazing hair!  I know I will never have the hair, but I will do my best to have her passion and determination.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Angela_Davis

http://www.idahostatesman.com/2010/09/19/1345512/living-toward-the-light.html

Published in: on September 14, 2011 at 10:37 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/angela-davis-my-namesake/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

