Weekend of Recovery

http://www.localcolormovie.com/

Earlier this year I had the privilege to take a weekend yoga workshop with Jo Tastula. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and was excited to attend another workshop with Jo this weekend. The time came to pack and leave for McCall, but I had no “juice”. No matter what, I could not seem to switch my power button to on. I agonized over the fact that I had made plans with people, that I really wanted to learn more from this teacher and I had already paid for the workshop. All these things had me trying to ignore what I really needed, which was rest.

I can’t tell you how many times this struggle has arisen in my life. There are so many things to do and so little time. A sense of urgency becomes a way of life. This is the power of yoga. It asks us to become aware, slow down and breath. Through this process we regain our ability to self regulate and listen to the wisdom of our bodies. When we do this depth and meaning returns to our everyday and joy can re-enter our lives.

Did this happen for me? Yes! My breath feels deeper and my mind sharper. I may have spent the weekend sleeping, reading and watching movies, but I didn’t waste a moment.

Inspiring movie lines from my weekend of recovery:

“It’s not what you do on a good day that matters most, it is what you do on a bad day.” ~ The Matador’s Mistress

“Anyone can see the ugliness in the world, true skill is in seeing the beautiful.” ~Local Color

Published in: on August 8, 2011 at 5:04 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/weekend-of-recovery/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations for listening to yourself! So many choices, so much to do, but now you have refreshed and will be able to continue in peace…great way to practice giving up something for nothing which is really something. 🙂


Leave a Reply

