Eloquently Beautiful


I discovered a blog by James R. Ure that I have really been enjoying.  Today he wrote an eloquently beautiful entry.  Below is an excerpt:

“I have found that some of the most profound lessons from meditative awareness come when I’m drifting off to sleep. It’s a time when I’m aware of my breathing more than most times throughout the day. It’s also a time when you aren’t distracted by the television, computers or other distractions. It’s just you and your breath; as each cycle of breath brings deeper and deeper relaxation. Often I crack the window to feel the cool breeze calm my tense muscles and skin; I focus on the smells of clean air pouring through.

So, last night it rained for the first time this Spring. It was a soft but rhythmic shower that filled our rain gutters with gurgling activity. As I listened to the rushing water in the darkness of night, my usually stubborn perceptions couldn’t tell if it was a natural stream or a man-made one. In that moment, those perceptions gave up and fell away. In that moment, it was simply bubbling water. As my mind began to relax further, it melded with the sound of the rushing water, so that there was no difference between the water and the entity labeled “James.” The next thing I knew, I was waking up.”  by James R. Ure

http://thebuddhistblog.blogspot.com

Published in: on April 15, 2011 at 4:58 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2011/04/15/eloquently-beautiful/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

