Early Bird

…gets extra hours to feel sleepy! I have had to get up at 6:30 am ….or close to it….and I don’t feel human. I know some of you love your mornings and everywhere I turn I am reading about meditating or practicing yoga in the am. Well, here is my take on that.

Listen to your natural rhythms. Think back to when you were a kid in the summer and out of school. Without external forces (parents, camp counselors, work etc.) what time of the day would you have slept and awaken? I have tried for years to make my body and mind conform to the “early to rise and early to bed” motto. I now am looking at 37 years of sleeping experience and don’t feel any closer to being a morning person. So, you know what, I give up. Yes, you heard it right! I give up!

I will never choose again to get up early if it can be avoided. I love the wee hours of the night, the quiet secret world after the rest of the world has drifted off to sleep. It is my time to reflect, read, write or even indulge in some comfort food. You heard me right, I eat after 10 o’clock at night and sometimes it is carbs!

I am a good yogini who does her best 23 hours of the day and what truly makes me better is that final hour of the day without rules. So if you call me at 10pm I won’t answer because I am focusing on me and if you call me before 10am I will still be focusing on me. Did I really just say what I said? Of course, because 10am to 10pm are pretty good office hours.

Now keep in mind I won’t remember what I have said due to the fact it is currently 8am.

Published in: on January 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/early-bird/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. THANK YOU ANGELA-THAT IS WHAT I NEEDED I HAVE BEEN HAVING THE SAME STRUGGLE I FEEL BETTER WHEN I GO WITH MY OWN RYTHUMS THAN TO TRY TO CONFORM TO WHEN SOCIETY SAYS I SHOULD BE RESTING AND WORKING-
    NAMSATE
    JULIA

    • Don’t worry I think there are a lot more of us night owl yogis out there 🙂

  2. So what about those of us that can barely get out of bed in time to go to work during the week but seem to have no problem getting up at 4:30 on Saturdays to go to the mountain (or other outdoor activity)? Morning person or not?

    • Well, I have a feeling that your dilemma has less to do with whether or not you are a morning person and more to do with what I call the “Christmas morning effect”. Sounds like, at least on this aspect, that things have not changed muck since high school 🙂


Leave a Reply

