How We Where & Things To Come

The transition from one year to the next is pregnant with possibilities. It is my favorite holiday of all. A time for gratitude for what has been and excitement for the future. I love making a new year’s resolution each year. Oh yes, I have made silly or unrealistic resolutions in the past, but with each passing year came a fresh try.

 

I am happy to say my skill for making resolutions has improved. Resolutions or commitments to oneself can be powerful tools. Last year I pledged to try to approach life ‘without fear’. Of course there where days I fretted and worried, but as a whole I believe I succeeded. I dove in head first and made decisions with gusto. It was liberating and empowering. It felt so good and rendered such positive results, that I wondered why I had waited so long to try such an exercise.

With confidence on my side, accomplishments came with greater ease. It was like I finally got out of my own way. Authenticity of self was an unexpected side effect.

This year I have decided to have more FUN. It may not sound like a resolution at all, but I think it may be one of my most challenging so far. How do I plan to do this? Below are a few of the ideas I have, but I would love to hear your suggestions. Or maybe share some of the ideas you would use to infuse more fun and enjoyment into your life.

  1. Begin playing around with aerial dance and aerial yoga.
  2. After BSU graduation take a ‘walk about’.
  3. Wear more of my handmade and altered clothing.
  4. Take weekends off just to play (not get caught up on housework!)
  5. Spend more time outdoors.
  6. Continue to try to be fearless!

I thought I would share this with you in hopes that my love for resolutions would be contagious. Throw out anxiety about picking the perfect resolution. This is one thing that really is all about you. There are no rules. Just look into your heart and go for it, if it doesn’t work out just pick a new one. Who will know unless you broadcast it across the internet.

Happy New Year!

Published in: on December 31, 2010 at 4:42 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2010/12/31/how-we-where-things-to-come/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like a GREAT resolution to me! Having fun is a thing that is bred out of us…..

    • I agree. The ‘western system’ encourages us to perpetually feel lacking in some way. This will lead us to look externally for satisfaction (usually buy things or look for new partners) and this requires us to ‘buckle down’, get serious, ‘put our nose to the grindstone’ etc.

      If there is one person I know who has a handle on seeking fun, I know it is you! Now the question is how to balance our responsibilities to family, home and work with our desire for fun. How can we encourage not only ourselves to have more fun, but to also make sure our fun does not create more work for others? How can we include those in our life into the fun?

      • Balance…..Hmmm sure got me there…:-)

      • Maintaining life balance is so much work, but I keep discovering that living out of balance is even more work!


Leave a Reply

