Nothing was stirring, not even a mouse.

Finding a bit of stillness and calm can be a real challenge during the holidays. I believe it is important to try our hardest to keep our ‘to do’ list short. Streamline, simplify and choose to do something everyday that will help recharge your batteries. I know these are suggestions that can be almost impossible to put into action. Below are some things I have personally done this year.

  1. Give less presents and give more thanks. Spending less money on the holidays has kept my stress level lower and allowed me to stay more present in the moment.
  2. Allow myself time alone. Having the time to recharge my batteries makes it possible to really listen and connect when I am with family and friends.
  3. Indulge in the luxuries of the season, but in moderation. I have found it important to not let all my self-care fall away. Of course I will eat some chocolates, but I don’t need the whole box 😉
  4. Read some heartwarming books. Reading is so important to me. It is one of my self-care activities that I must have.
  5. Drink a cup of sleepy-time tea each night.
  6. Yoga!

There are so many things that we can do to make the holidays less stressful and more fun. Most crucial is to figure out what part of the season makes you feel good and light-up inside. Emphasize those activities and let go of the rest. Everyone will thank you for it, because if you are happier they will be too!

Tis the season to be jolly!

Published in: on December 24, 2010 at 8:19 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/nothing-was-stirring-not-even-a-mouse/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

