Early Morning Blues

A new week, a new start.  Rising in the morning can be such a challenge, not only is there a list of things to do,but we usually have a tight time schedule as well. This morning the alarm went off at 7:30am and I turned it off and slept for another hour!  Mornings are always hard for me. I wander around confused, flustered and blurry eyed till 10am no matter how much sleep I have had. I am in awe of all you early risers. I imagine this big beautiful crystal clear world that I am missing out on, but somehow the soft warm bed just won’t release its grasp on me.

I think I am going to try an experiment. I am going to write down a very specific ritual of things to do every morning and following it with vigor for one month. After one month it is my hope that my mornings will be a little less painful. Do any of you have suggestions for my morning ritual? I am thinking of the basics: shower, eat, warm beverage, meditation & pranayama. It is also my plan to eliminate a few things I currently do and save them for later in the day. For example no more jumping on the computer first thing.  I know this is a hard one for us all….our digital life is demanding 🙂 Let me know what you think? What helps your morning go well?

Published in: on September 7, 2010 at 6:45 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/early-morning-blues/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Eat first, coffee, then go outside, feed the horses and maybe scoop poop or work in the yard. Anything that gets me outside and moving helps to get me going. Otherwise my mornings are ,as you say, painful, just can’t seem to get moving.

  2. UGH! I don’t do mornings well at ALL!!! I commute from Caldwell to work and drive a commutervan so I have a responsibility to other people first thing in the morning.

    My alarm goes off at 530, I STRUGGLE to get out of bed by 6. I shower, brush my teeth, put on minimal makeup, get dressed and leave by 645 at the latest. My husband brings me coffee every morning so that helps. When I go downstairs after getting ready I have to let the dog out and give her a treat when she comes back. This is our ritual, she won’t participate for my husband!

    By the time I get out of the shower I am pretty much awake. I eat at my desk at work around 830. I have my morning routine pretty much down to the basics and can’t think of one place to shave off time to stay in bed. I really dislike the panicked feeling of not getting up in time but unfortunately I feel it much too often!

    • Thank you for sharing. I can’t imagine having to get up and out of the house by 6:45am. I am not sure how I used to get up every morning at 6:30 for school. I believe, like Debbie and Glenda said, getting up and moving right away and keeping a ritual is really key. Keep the comments coming….I need all the help I can get on this battlefield.


Leave a Reply

