Making Time To Listen

I have been thinking a lot about making time to listen. With my recent return to college I have been feeling rushed all the time. I find the biggest challenge is knowing when to say no. It is a constant balancing act between responsibilities and self-care. Where do I find the answers to my daily dilemmas? Often times I don’t find the answers, but through practice I am working to strengthen my connection to my ‘gut instinct’.  Our bodies tell us the truth.  When I stay in connection with not only my mind, but also my body, finding the answers to daily questions becomes second nature.

Take a few moments to remember the last decision you made.  Do you remember what you were feeling in your body during this time?  Did you have a stomach ache, headache, neck or back pain, shortened breath, restless legs, itchy skin, tightening in the chest, change in breath…..there are a million ways our bodies communicate with us (and they are not always negative or uncomfortable).  Our modern world moves so fast and uses so much technology that it encourages us to stay in our minds.  The longer we stay in our minds without consideration for our bodies the harder it gets to reconnect.  This is why yoga can be so emotional.  Emotions are the way our body attempts to communicate with us. Through yoga asanas we bring the mind and body back into connection and practice using our whole selves in sync.  This synchronicity is what will lead us to balance and toward greater wisdom.

“There is guidance for each of us, and by only listening, we shall hear the right word.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

I am working on sitting still long enough to hear who I really am, to hold asanas long enough to join more securely the mind and body. Through practice I will know myself better and the answers I seek will materialize more organically. There will always be times in life when things are more rushed than we would like, but creating quiet moments not to think, but instead just to be, will lead us toward happiness and contentment.

“Today let me take some time to listen.”

Finding balance is hard work!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2010/08/30/making-time-to-listen/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This my first time reading your blog and I am inspired to keep tuning in. You are inspirational and delightful 🙂

    • Thank you so much. I look forward to the opportunity to share and hope to hear what you have to say as well. I really believe that communicating about yoga heightens the experience and increases it’s impact. I am excited to see where your yoga takes you. Nameste.


Leave a Reply

