Temporary Nature

Emotions define our experience of the present and deeply influence our memories. It can be  scary to feel controlled by our emotions. As we get stressed out it becomes even more difficult to process emotions.  So what is there to do?  Well, I personally am trying to have a new relationship with my emotions. How am i doing this?

First, I remind myself that I am not my emotions. They are something I experience, but they do not define who I am.

Secondly, I try to ask myself what my emotions are trying to tell me.  These ‘feelings’ are there for a reason and most likely there is something I can learn from them. For example, when I feel anxious and weepy it usually means I need to slow down, take a few things off my ‘to-do’ list and take deeper breaths.

Thirdly, when an emotion feels completely overwhelming I work hard not to bury it, but instead recognize it, make note of it and remember that (like all emotions) it is temporary.

I believe that is the most comforting thought of all. No matter how intense an emotion, whether bad or good, it is temporary. The temporary nature of emotions reminds us to tune in to our true selves. That part of us that is constant no matter what the external is up to. Your true nature is where you can always come home and find comfort.

Returning Home to Your True Nature

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2010/08/23/temporary-nature/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

