Climbing Trees

I found a paperback book in a free bin at the Wrangell Library, Home and Other Big Fat Lies by Jill Wolfson. It was written for kids, but the story sounded intriguing so I brought it home. It is about a 13 year old girl. She is a foster kid from the city who gets sent to a family in the middle of the redwoods. She falls in love with the forest and keeps her favorite tree, Big Momma, from getting cut down. She is a great character because she is a normal everyday kid who ends up with friends, family and life purpose by simply following her heart.

I grew up in the middle of an old growth forest. Many years without running water or electricity was challenging, but nothing compared to the pain of watching my forest get clear cut when I was a teenage girl. It was one of the biggest heartbreaks of my life. I am not sure what I could have done, I felt powerless and devastated.  Today is different; yoga has created a sense of power in my life that makes anything seem possible. It is time to tap into your own power and together we will see a shift in the power of the collective. I plan to climb into the limbs of a mossy tree today and meditate. Talk to you again soon, Nameste.

The story lead me to also think about Julia Butterfly Hill and her beloved Luna.

Her story: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julia_Butterfly_Hill

Her blog: http://juliabutterflyhill.wordpress.com/

Julia hanging out in Luna

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://zodhanayoga.wordpress.com/2010/08/03/climbing-trees/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

